A Day at the Elms with Porsches

The weather looked threatening, but I was heartened as I drove down to Newport by meeting up with a 964 Cabriolet and a white 997 with an aerokit and GT3-inspired stickers on the way down. 

We were perennially late with cranky kids requiring intravenous Dunkin' Donuts on the way to keep the peace. It's amazing what lengths I will go through sometimes to indulge my passions. My lovely wife braved the atrocious behavior of our kids with her usual grace on only the promise of a visit to Castle Hill to wipe away some of the pain. Fellow ACF'er, Alex, was there already with his kids so we powered our way down to try not to be too late.

We pulled in to register for the "display only" (I'm way too lazy to clean up my car to the level that the Polishing Club of America demands) class and Marshall's classmate, Charles, was already pulling him from the car. We finally parked with the 997 type cars and there were folks asking me all kinds of questions before I could even get out of the car. Who says Porsche owners are standoffish? Bah.

I had barely taken in the scene and the kids were already off and driving my wife nuts. Lest you think the passion I have for this show at this venue be overblown, take a look at the photos. The grandeur of the building and grounds with this much amazing automotive sculpture on the lawn - hopefully you'll forgive me and see that it wasn't hyperbole.

The 356 crowd was represented about as well as I recall from 5 years ago. One unrestored example that looked amazing inside graced the grounds. 

The fringe crowds - 914, 924, 928 and 944 - were fairly thin, I must say. Two 914s. Maybe a half dozen 944s and 928s. I don't recall seeing a 924 at all. Maybe that means good things for picking up some of these cars for reasonable money in the future. Steve Chapman's two 914's were really beautiful, however. The "bumblebee" 914 is one of about 400 made with only about 80 remaining, according to him. The green 914-6 was quite original and very correct. Like time capsules. Steve has some good taste in cars.

The early 911 camp was fairly well represented. 

The mid-911's were impressive at times. This 1993 RS America was both rare and achingly beautiful.

Some of the more remarkable cars were also quite outstanding.

There were a good number of newer Boxster's, 911's, Cayman's (Caymen?), and some Cayenne's. No Panamera's suprisingly.

All in all, a great show that only happens at this spot once every 5 years. Next year will be at the Lars Anderson Museum up in Brookline, another frequent haunt of mine. 

The kids were a little less focused on the cars, but at least we did our part trying to share our passions with them.