Can We Just Drive Already??

It has been a long winter. A very, very, very long winter. Not to say that I didn't have some driving fun on the low traction surface. But getting feet of the white stuff each time converted much playtime into time wasted moving the white stuff around, at least for me. I hope you all had a plow guy doing that instead! But we're starting to see temps in the 50's (F) and the snow is starting to become scarce. And we know what that means! Play time in cars!!

The ice will be breaking at Thompson Speedway this weekend, April 11-12. Attilio can probably hook up anyone who is interested in attending the festivities up there. Our first driving event of the season will be Sunday April 26th with ADSI at Quonset. 

As usual, class will start at 8am at the gates and open autocross will run from noon to 5pm. It has been sooo long since November that I hope I'll remember which pedal does what! Also time for brake fluid flushes, oil changes if you didn't already do that at the end of last year, tire checks/changes (go visit Roger's Tires in Woonsocket!), and a good look around the old battle wagon to see what's now dangling by a thread or needs to be upgrades so you "can dominate!!" (to borrow from the 24 Hours of LeMons). 

In other fun car news, the NY Auto Show is on right now and there was one poignant and interesting April Fools post.

On 4/26, I'll likely be shaking down my Friend-Of-Envigna(my company)-In-A-Reasonably-Priced-Porsche car for 2015. What the heck is that, you ask? I got my hooks into a 1986 Porsche 944 that needed some love. I've been wrenching on it through the last couple of months to get it in shape for use. Lots of cleanup and a couple new parts and hopefully she'll serve the noble purpose of being the car that can replace the thought in many people's heads that "my car isn't good enough to take to the track" or "I don't think my car will survive it." If this little thing from 1986 can survive being driven by a bunch of hooligans like you for this whole season, those excuses should fall like raindrops. And for an extra bit of fun, I'll be recording the fastest times that we all set in it on the ADSI track so we can get a fun little head-to-head competition going! I'm sure you can dominate in your super turbocharged Prius MCMXVII but can you rock the 944? We'll see.

So we'll see you at Quonset on 4/26? Good!