Snow Cross!!!

Happy 2014 everyone! 

ADSI (the folks who have somehow gained access to a runway at Quonset Point) just announced that there will be a snow cross (an autocross on a lightly plowed runway course) this Sunday 1/5 starting at 11:30 and running to 4:30. The gates will open at 11:00 AM and will need to be closed again right after entry so anyone coming after that time will need to call (either ADSI or potentially me - 401.258.3057) to get in late. No need to stay all the way to 4:30 unless you want to or can’t leave since its too much fun.

The cost is $125 cash only and the normal tech form and reg form are on the website here: Registration Form Tech Form. I’m planning to fill out my own tech form as the biggest thing here to check is that your wheels are torqued adequately. Overusing brakes will probably not be an issue (not to downplay their importance) and speeds probably won’t exceed 40mph (or stopping will be very hard…). Good winter tires (narrower is better) are the most critical item most likely.

I’ll be headed down to see what this is all about. The last time they did one of these was two years ago, apparently. Alberto is likely in as well.

Anyone who thinks their car may not be up for this one on short notice is absolutely welcome to take some runs in mine and have some fun. I’m probably bringing the SUV since Deb’s AWD wagon suffered a vandalized broken side window and is in the shop. It even has an automatic transmission so it doesn’t get much easier to jump into than that.

I’m guessing most everyone is away (Rich, Alex, Lyndon) but wanted to make sure everyone knew just in case plans change. They need 15 total folks to pull off this event and we’re up to roughly 10 total as of now I think so another body or two may make a big difference.

Bon année! Hope to see you sideways in the snow!

3 responses
ADSI is so low key, friendly, nonthreatening, grass roots kind of fun. I highly suggest this event if you can at all make it.
This sounds like a blast. Although both of my rides are wearing snows, I will be out of town until late Sunday. So I will miss the fun. Have a great time, Sean
Sorry to hear you'll miss out. I talked to the owner of ADSI today and it really is a special organization, very nice, lots of fun and above all mellow/low key, IE without a broomstick up where the sun don't shine.