Finding A Few More Seconds Per Lap

A couple of you really geeky types like me might enjoy this: I took a look at the data from two of my faster runs at ADSI on Sunday in the hope that while they were both similar, there might be enough differences between them to reveal some areas where improvement could be found. And I think I did. Here is the annotated version of the graph with MPH on the Y-axis and time on the X-axis:


Full size

The speed looks notchy but its being measured in small increments of time so ultimately that is to be expected. But hidden in here seems to be the fact that my slower run was actually mostly faster except for the very beginning and end of the laps. And that made the difference in times. 

So it appears there is much yet left to be learned. Which makes me very happy.

5 responses
I couldn't open anything as those links don't work, but as per our recent conversation, I am 100% sure that we have a lot of time to shave off. The reason why is that I find myself still nervous, tight, "behind" in terms of where my thoughts are catching up to the track mentally, not looking ahead almost at all (but I am starting to), and just disappointed in certain parts of the track. That said in other parts, like the final decreasing radius set felt awesome, totally awesome the last time. Initially I had wanted to use 1st gear, but by now my cornering speeds are so high that 1st would run out so fast that it would, and was a waste of my time. Even that little trick where you poke the throttle with your foot to find the understeer point, then lift, stab the brake, countersteer as you get back on the throttle rotating the rear end didn't work, at least in the dry. It was better to give it gas, early and plenty of it. It just worked because I was going faster and faster. You always feel that you have reached the limit because you have, this is the best you have ever done and you don't know how to improve, until you get more seat time, particularly wtih someone who knows what they are doing, sometimes an instructor but it doesn't have to be. Hopefully there will be an ADSI on 6-1-14. Anyone who has not attended should, you don't need a performance car at all, evidence that a stock Toyota Corolla blew the doors of a brand new shiny yellow Chevrolet Corvette. You'll never get to enjoy your car anywhere else like this, not even on a full on racetrack, because ADSI is so controlled and safe in the middle of a (literally) empty, massive, mile-long airport runway.
The links may work if you come to the website. They were chibbed the first time I posted this article but they have since been fixed: http://acf.posthaven.com/finding-a-few-more-sec... Very true that its hard to imagine being able to go too much faster when it is feeling like we've started to "get it". But there must be some time left for sure. Its just a question of how much and what it will take to get there. 6/1 looks like a go so far, judging by the facebook responses. 25 or so responses already: https://www.facebook.com/adsi.hpds/posts/632109... Lots of pictures up from last weekend too: https://www.facebook.com/adsi.hpds?fref=nf Question for anyone who is hesitant to come to ADSI for fear of their car not being suitable: would there be interest in obtaining a cheap-but-suitable car that our ACF crew could use down there without fear of breaking their own car? Not sure of the feasibility, but I'd love to see more of us get into it and I'm open to exploring ideas! -S
Question for anyone who is hesitant to come to ADSI for fear of their car not being suitable I disagree with the need for this. The only car that is not suitable enough for ADSI is one that does not run. A stock, regular Toyota Corolla, again I repeat, a stock, unmodified normal Toyota Corolla blew the doors off V8 Mustangs, Corvettes and fancy 60,000 dollar BMW M3's like they were standing still. You run what you brung, but despite some of the very long straightaways capable of getting some pretty high speeds, the course is so technical that anyone with the right precepting which is available in spades thanks to the wonderful instructors will have fun. No fear of embarassment, but if you're driving anything faster than a bicycle the Corvettes might have to fear you. Don't believe me? Check out these times for the event, a lower time is faster: http://i1035.photobucket.com/albums/a439/LeachN... View on i1035.photobucket.com Preview by Yahoo See you *all* on 6-1 Attilio Bettega
I'm not sure you fit the target market for the question, Attilio. While I don't disagree per se, I would like to get a better sense of whether its car, schedule, cost, interest, me not showering often enough or whatever might be holding folks back. If there is anything we can do to lower the barrier of entry further, I'd want to give it a go. I also have an ulterior motive: the "star in a reasonably priced car" model where we could have one vehicle that everyone could drive to establish times. A level playing field. A used Toyota Corolla might be a small investment for some interesting fun! Ok, so now all the cards are on the table, folks! What is holding you back??? I'd like to get us up to some numbers where we can start to sponsor our own events and enjoy a somewhat level demographic. I'm probably fighting the tide, but why not give it a try? Help me out here folks. Please?
It's hard for me to look into that, even a nerd like me who knows what transmission crossmember isolator bushings are and what this upgrade can do has a hard time looking at those charts. I am happy that your time is 1:30.9 and not 1:30.1 though because the gap feels a lot closer. I think I was 1:32.4 so the difference is only 1.5 seconds, not more. Getting close man with my rag-tag ride. I'm telling you, car is close to meaningless. It's all about: 1. driver 2. tires. 6-1-14 it is!