Next Autocross - June 1 - is on!!

Get ready folks.... 

Attilio was quite successful in agitating for an extra event to be added to the calendar by ADSI down at Quonset. And we're on for June 1, 2014. Looks like the full day class is an option as well as just the noon to five autocross only portion.

We were one person shy of our expected total last time out, but still had two ACF folks there and a close friend with a sweet, red 2000 Honda Prelude. Weather that day was overall mostly cloudy, windy and a tad chilly with a small shower in the afternoon - but honestly, it was tremendous to be able to experience all those extremes in one day and see what it does to your car control. 

I'll try not to beat on the dead horse too much more, but this really is a great way to have a great time in your car at your own speed and learn quite a bit while doing so. Its more of a school for driving than a race, so I'm hoping no one is getting the wrong impression that its hyper-competitive or anything. It really is a bunch of car people enjoying what they (we) enjoy most - fun driving and hanging out talking about and looking at cars/trucks/whatever.

So I hope to see more of our crew there this time, if you can make it. If you can't or won't do it, I'm hoping you'll do me the favor of dropping a comment as to whether there is anything other than scheduling conflicts that might be giving you pause. I would love to remove every barrier to entry that I can and drag you all down kicking and screaming if I have to - because I know you'll be hooked once you come. So help me to help you!!

Have a great night and keep it sliding sideways!
-S

3 responses
Whoo hoo! I'll be there, camber plates, AST 5100's, swift (mostly linear) springs, CF driveshaft and full suspension bushings decked out! This is for learning only, but once you get in the faster times with Sterling coming in 3rd last time out of 45 cars, you will get the itch. And don't think you can't have fun, because I know at least 3 people, yes, 3 people that will show up in a rented econobox car (hence the Corolla!), including the fabled mechanic and Subaru racer Matt Miner. 1:2x or bust!
Doc Hudson Hornet shows his real driving Doc Hudson Hornet shows his real driving View on www.youtube.com Preview by Yahoo
Great idea to rent an econobox and bring it out! I saw that Matt had responded to the event on Facebook and hoped his LS2 swap was done, but that would have been just about impossible. So rental Focus looks like a great plan!